h1

Shadowgrove: The New Story

October 17, 2007

Okay, well, I’ve made my first start into a new story. Whether this will be a full-length novel or a short story remains yet to be seen. I started it as part of this 70 Days of Sweat thing that Jambrea turned me on to. I’ve gotten about 500 words written already and I’m stoked about finishing my first day’s assignment.

At this point, the story is flowing out well, but I’m not getting a major sense of drive.
I thought that I had a good idea for the opening, but I think that my need to identify the characters has put a bosh on the action or suspense or discovery that I wanted to feel right off the bat.

I remember when I was writing Sybur (my first complete manuscript; as of yet unsold) that it popped right away. This one isn’t doing that, even though the story pops in my head. I’m thinking that perhaps I will need to eventually write a new introduction or perhaps a prologue. I feel that the opening event is where I want the story to start, but I know that I’ve often times read novels that had a two to five page prologue that set some major action or event or setting into place prior to the actual meat of the story.

Anyhow, that’s the progress as of right now, and I felt that it would be a good idea to share it and keep my involvement flowing. I’m sure that I’ll be writing here more often.

Oh, and as an aside, I took a minute or two to actually sketch some things about the main character before I started writing. I did both kinds of a sketch: writing down ideas and characteristics and actually drawing an image of the character and some of his possessions. It’s helped to give me a far clearer image of him as I am writing the story, but I wonder if it will hinder or help my description of him in the text. Normally, I find that I’m discovering the character as the potential reader would and that helps me to make sure that I am painting the picture in my mind that I want to convey.

Regardless, it’s time for me to get off of here. I’ll see you all later. Um, the one or two of you who even know this exists or care to read it.

AO

Leave a Reply

